272-copy1.jpg

“Rainy Days and Mondays always get me down.”

Words from a song recorded by the The Carpenters in the ’70′s.

Good group; good song; sad message.

Self-talk (what we tell ourselves) is important.

Tell yourself “rainy days and Mondays always get you down;” they will.

We program ourselves for success or failure by words and thoughts.

We believe what we tell ourselves, even if it isn’t true.

After all, we wouldn’t lie to ourselves, would we?

How’s your self-talk on “Rainy Days and Mondays”?

~~~

Categories: attitude, Christian, Christianity, Creative Writing, encouragement, hope, inspiration, Life, memories, Reflections, Religion, Spirituality | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “

  1. This is so true! We hear enough negativity in a day’s time, we shouldn’t hear it from ourselves!

    Like

  2. I have been working on positive self-talk. I have come a long way 🙂

    Like

  3. Amen!~

    Like

  4. @Sheila: Whatever you feed grows. Whatever you starve dies. Anonymous.

    Like

  5. The Carpenters must have had a really rough time on Mondays. This song and “Monday, Monday” I wonder what it was about Mondays that got poor Karen and Richard down.

    Like

  6. I think find the silent words we speak to ourselves to be the most powerful. When I find myself going down a negative thought process I tell myself ‘out loud’, “Stop. I don’t have to go that direction.”

    Like

  7. When I’m feeling down, I’ve learned to think about what I’m feeding myself, or not feeding myself…not food, but words, thoughts, inspiration, etc. I’ve realized that even though I’m usually optimistic, I need a steady stream of positive and good coming into my heart. And who doesn’t?! I’ve just learned to be more deliberate about it, making it a choice to let good in and stay away from the negative as much as possible. ~ Sheila

    Like

  8. Amen! This is so true. May we be careful and mindful of our words. They produce life or death. I love rainy days. I tend to reflect, daydream and find positive things to think about. God is watering the earth. I do not see Mondays as manic or the beginning to a rough week. Every day of the week is a blessing because I am alive to see it. No matter what, I can choose to make the day what I want despite what’s going on or what I assume will take place.

    Thinking ahead with a negative mindset will keep us boxed in which isn’t good at all.

    What a wonderful share today to get the brain directed (hopefully) down the right path.

    Like

Thank you for your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.

