Non-Christian Believers

I heard a Catholic Bishop use the term, non-Christian Believers and thought it a bit of a contradiction. Believers are Christians; they just may not be Catholic.

Denominations have confused the simplicity of salvation through Jesus Christ. In simplest meaning, there are two groups of people that are found in every denomination, Christians and non-Christians; in other words, Believers and non-Believers; in other words, the Saved and the Lost.

“For by Grace are you saved through Faith and not of works, lest any man should boast.” If you confess with your mouth the Lord, Jesus Christ, and believe in your heart that God has raised Him from the dead; you shall be saved…for with the heart, you believe unto righteousness and with the mouth confession is made unto salvation.” Scripture upon scripture reveals the simplicity of salvation.

The concern is not whether one be Methodist or Baptist or Catholic or whatever other denomination, but whether one has accepted Jesus Christ as Savior and Lord.

I encourage you to read the 3rd chapter of the Gospel of John (verses 1-21) where Nicodemus asks Jesus, “How can one be born again?” The answer Jesus gives is the simplicity of salvation. The 16th verse gives the reason Jesus died on the cross.

Jesus answered, “I am the Way, the Truth and the Life. No one comes to the Father except through me.” (John 14:6 NIV)

 Accepting or rejecting Jesus Christ will have an Eternal affect on your soul.

It is the only choice that really matters.

Categories: attitude, Bible, Christian, Christianity, devotions, encouragement, faith, inspiration, Life, Reflections, Religion, Spirituality, thoughts | 13 Comments

Post navigation

13 thoughts on “Non-Christian Believers

  1. So very true. I like how you say it.

    Like

  2. This posting reminds me of something I heard in Alcoholics Anonymous when I was new to that program. The saying went something like this:

    “Keep it simple, Stupid.”

    😉 Your posting screams that same message. Gotta love it!

    Like

  3. Butch,
    I don’t know for sure what the bishop meant, but as a Catholic, I’ve heard Jews, and yes, Muslims described as non-Christian believers since they believe in the One True God – the God of Abraham (Ibraham to the Muslims.)

    Blessings and best wishes,
    Steve

    Like

  4. This bishop gives Catholics a bad name. And for some reason people look for an opening to do so. Yes, we were taught to believe that Jesus founded His church on Catholic doctrine because that is what the Church truly believes.

    Just as any Church truly believes in their doctrine. The “Apostles Creed” reveals what a Catholic believes. It is said many times each Sunday all over the world.

    Many people have found a reason to leave their faith or church and join another. For years, I have gone to other churches with my friends and joined their prayer groups, gone to their homes for bible study. It has never been a problem for me.

    I believe in the same God they do, was taught in my Catholic faith to accept Jesus as my Lord and Savior.

    There is one difference though, my protestant friends didn’t have to endure the prevalent criticism that I did as a catholic. I remember it when I was six … it continues today at the age of seventy-two.

    blessings ~ maxi

    Like

  5. The truth as simply written as the plan of salvation. The gift of salvation definitely is simple for us, but I pray none of us who have accepted Jesus Christ as Lord and Savior NEVER forgets… it was NOT simple for either our Heavenly Father or our beloved Savior. Great post!!
    Stephanie

    Like

  6. Everyone is a believer. The only question is, what or who is it you are believing in?

    Like

  7. The saved and the lost. That sums it up well.

    Like

  8. Great post!

    Like

  9. When I first read that I thought it was a mistake! Non-Christian believers….doesn’t even make sense.

    Like

  10. Planting Potatoes

    amen….I agree with you!

    Like

  11. To clarify my prior comment, I know many people have been very hurt by the Church (Catholic and otherwise) so I do not want to seem to be minimizing anyone’s negative experience. However, we need to be careful not to throw out the baby with the bath water.

    Also, my intention was not to contradict Minister Glenda’s comment (I’m sorry that you had a bad experience Minister Glenda, and am glad to see you are strong in the faith, bless you).

    Like

  12. Thank-you for this post. As I child I was blessed in both Catholic and Evangelical churches and it’s true that there are believers (and non-believers) in every denomination. I have friends who are sold out born again Charismatic Catholics as well as Orthodox Christians, and our diverse backgrounds brings such a richness to our faith. We must walk together as one if we are to function as the Body of Christ. Thanks again for writing this.

    Like

  13. Thanks Bro. Leroy! I was raised Catholic from the age of 5 til I about 40 when I converted to Apostolic Christian Faith. The Catholic doctrine is that only Catholics are Christians and the only way to heaven is through the Catholic Faith. So I’m not surprised that this bishop would make such a statement. I thank God for waking me up and bringing me out of the Catholic faith.

    Minister Glenda

    Like

Thank you for your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.

