In a Better Place.

cropped-dsc01062-copy1.jpg

It’s summer and I’m sleeping on the back screened-in porch. Out of a sound sleep, I hear a scratching on the screen and a voice asking, “Hey Butch, do you want to take a walk?” It’s 3 am and my friend and classmate, Craig, wants to take a walk. “Why not,” I say, “Give me a minute.”

Can’t remember what we talked about that night or others like it. Maybe it was about girls or cars or parents…or maybe it was just two friends hangin’ out. One thing for sure, Craig and I created many memories growing up together in those teen years and I revisit them from time to time on the back roads of my mind.

My lifelong friend lost his battle with cancer last Friday. He was a classmate and a friend. I will miss his presence in my life. Rest easy, my friend.

In the past couple years, as Craig fought the good fight with his unwelcome Leukemia, another classmate and friend since I can first remember, Jerry, have had the opportunity to visit with Craig and his family. We both treasure those times now and will always remember those days when we walked and talked with a friend. Someday, we’ll do it again for we both know Craig waits for us in a better place.

Categories: attitude, Bible, Christian, faith, family, friends, hometown, inspiration, Life, Love, marriage, memories, Reflections, Spirituality, thoughts | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “In a Better Place.

  1. I’m sorry Butch for you pain as you miss your dear friend. Until that great reunion, may God comfort you.

    Like

  2. My sympathy for your loss: “it takes a long time to grow an old friend”.

    Like

  3. I’m very sorry to hear of the passing of your good friend. How treasured those recent visits must be, time together talking about the days gone by.

    Yes, you’ll see him again and won’t it be glorious? Still … the pain of him not being here is hard to take. My kindest thoughts are with you & his friends/family now.

    MJ

    Like

  4. So sorry for the loss of your friend. Thankful for the peace of knowing there will be future walks with him.

    Like

  5. Such a wonderful tribute to your friend…so sorry for your loss. He will live in your memories and heart forever:-)

    Like

  6. Steven Sawyer

    Beautiful tribute, Butch, to close friends. I remember those days sleeping in a tent in our back yard with my best buds. Nothing like it. Memories that last a life time. God bless you in your season of loss, my friend. And happy memories.

    Like

  7. I am so very sorry for your loss. You were blessed to have a friend such as Craig for most of your life! He will wait for you.

    Like

  8. Oh Butch, I am so sorry for your loss. Your friend waits for you in a happy place…
    blessings ~ maxi

    Like

Thank you for your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.

