Needs vs Wants

A psalm of David. The LORD is my shepherd; I have everything I need.

(Psalm 23:1 NLT)

Another translation says “shall not want”…the “need” list vs the “want” list. With the “need” list, we can learn to be content…with the “want” list, we never arrive at a place of contentment…there is always more to want.

And my God shall supply all your need according to His riches in glory by Christ Jesus.

(Phil 4:19 NKJV)

Bread on the table, shoes on our feet and a roof overhead.

 Another translation says “not lack anything”…we will have all we “need”…

It is God who knows what we need; it is our earthly desires that define the “wants.”

Categories: attitude, Bible, Christian, Christianity, encouragement, faith, family, friends, inspiration, Life, marriage, Reflections, Spirituality, thoughts | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Needs vs Wants

  1. I am studying this very topic in my small group. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  2. Sister Jen and I were talking on the porch yesterday and the subject of money came up. I said, “There is nothing I could buy, I have everything I need.”

    Too often people don’t need anything … it’s just a want.
    blessings ~ maxi

    Like

  3. Reblogged this on Outpouring Trickle and commented:
    This is in line with my Bible study this week about joy and how the joy of salvation is the only joy we really actually need in this life and how circumstances do not have to be what satisfies our joy. I have my Savior, I need nothing else. Thanks for the reminder!

    Like

  4. This is in line with my Bible study this week about joy and how the joy of salvation is the only joy we really actually need in this life and how circumstances do not have to be what satisfies our joy. I have my Savior, I need nothing else. Thanks for the reminder!

    Like

  5. He not only knows our physical and material needs and wants, but our spiritual needs and wants and He meets those as He meets the others. He meets the spiritual needs before He meets the material, which is often why we have to wait before they are met.

    Like

Thank you for your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.

