Do We Really Need to Go There

I do not strive to convince anyone of anything. A short piece in the right sidebar shares with you why I write. I ask no one to believe what I believe for everyone has the right to choose for themselves. I do hope to encourage thoughts from an open mind and heart.

Recently, someone said that I was walking on thin ice because I believe the following scripture; “For by grace you have been saved through faith, and that not of yourselves; it is the gift of God, not of works, lest anyone should boast.” These word are found in Ephesians 2:8-9 NKJV. The entire chapter speaks of a new hope.

The reader appeared to be coming from a man-made denominational stance. I have never been much on denominations. The very word means “to divide.”

An atheist believes there is no God. A Christian believes there is. One has to be wrong. Often, the assumption is that others are wrong simply because they don’t believe what we believe. Discussions continue without resolve as each one defends their beliefs.

Love one another as I have loved you! Where does it say to love if they agree with you…to love if they are acceptable to you…to love if it suits you? Then there’s “Judge not lest ye be judged”…do we really need to go there or do we get it.

Categories: attitude, Bible, Christian, Christianity, encouragement, faith, family, friends, hope, inspiration, Life, Love, Reflections, Religion, Spirituality, thoughts | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Do We Really Need to Go There

  1. Wonderfully said, Butch.

    Like

  2. We need more of people like you. Thank you

    Like

  3. “Thin ice.” We constantly face the question: Is my authority for faith and practice personal feelings, personal beliefs, personal experiences, or the Word of God? Only one answer is legitimate for anyone claiming to be a follower of Jesus, but oh how many struggle to figure it out. I’d rather walk the “thin ice” of the Holy Scripture than my personal anything as the foundation between me and Final Judgment.

    Like

  4. Steven Sawyer

    Excellent, Butch. I pondered your question. I’m afraid lots of folks who call themselves “Christians” really don’t get it. They don’t need to go there, but they do. Thank you as always for words that make me think. I regret that I have not been reading my blogging buddies and doing emails. I have played the caretaker roll with Marie since February 4 when she broke her leg. After an extended hospital stay and rehab experience she is now home and walking on her own with the occasional use of a cane. Now that I am somewhat freer, I can get back to reading and staying in touch with my good friends. I miss our chats and comments back and forth Butch. I’m grateful to be back and I’m grateful for you and the words God gives you to share.

    Like

  5. just this morning i was reminded of the benefits of walking the straight and narrow – bless you for doing the same – the benefits are few, but as you say, the retirement benefits are out of this world – hence we can love like no one else can

    Like

  6. Good post!

    Like

  7. Jazzmine Bankston

    Beautifully said.

    Like

Thank you for your thoughts.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

