The Woodlot

cropped-cropped-cropped-cropped-img_07871.jpgThe crisp morning air greets me with the comforting smell of a wood fire drifting from the cabin. With coffee in hand, I walk towards the woodlot happy to see another day. The pile of wood from last week’s cutting lay waiting for my eager hands and axe to transform it into stove wood for the winter. If there is one thing I enjoy most, it would have to be splitting wood.

Combined with the crisp fall morning and the smell of wood smoke lingering in the air, my day is destined to be most satisfying. Before I left the cabin, I set a pot of beans on the potbelly stove to slowly simmer during the day. I know when I go back inside later the inviting scent of supper would be in the air. I, most of all, know how blessed I am. This is a day that the Lord has made and I will rejoice and be glad for it

 ~~~

Thinking back to those years in the backwoods of the Arkansas Ozarks, I can still smell the wood smoke in a crisp morning air. Those times are part of the yesterdays of my life now, but their memories linger in the back roads of my mind as I find myself, coffee in hand, heading for the woodlot.

Categories: attitude, Bible, Christian, encouragement, faith, family, friends, hope, inspiration, Life, Love, memories, Reflections, Spirituality, thoughts | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “The Woodlot

  1. Pingback: My Article Read (1-18-2015) (1-19-2015) | My Daily Musing

  2. Pingback: The Woodlot | Christians Anonymous

  3. That smell is like non other and always refreshes memories. So sweet they are!

    Like

  4. I not only can smell the smoke, but also the wood, the woods, the coffee, and I can taste the beans.

    Like

Thank you for your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.

