Would You Deny Your Faith

We all imagine, perhaps hope that we would be true to our faith even in the threat of our life. We read about it…we think about it…we hope it won’t happen, but what if it does?

Perhaps, we should ask Peter. He walked every day with Jesus for three years. He was boastful about his commitment to his Lord. Even Jesus couldn’t tell him any different. Peter was totally convinced he could do it. Yet, before the cock crowed, Peter denied his Lord, not once, not twice, but three times. In the reality of a true test of his faith and commitment to Jesus, boastful Peter failed. He had relied on self and self-preservation took over. Peter had denied Jesus to save his life.

Read the 11th chapter of Hebrews, commonly referred to as the “Faith” chapter. Consider the words…meditate on them and ponder them in your heart. Let go of any sense of pride and boasting for it is by God’s Grace thru Faith and thru Christ that anything so powerful and so noble can ever be accomplished. If you are called to the test of your faith, you must believe God will provide the grace necessary to stand.

Categories: attitude, Bible, Christian, devotions, encouragement, faith, family, friends, hope, inspiration, Life, Love, marriage, Reflections, Religion, Spirituality, thoughts | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Would You Deny Your Faith

  1. Pingback: My Article Read (6-26-2015) | My Daily Musing

  2. I think about this too and the thing I notice about Peter is that he hadn’t received the Holy Spirit, at this time. I don’t think any believer can stand against true persecution, without the Holy Spirit. I also, consider those saints who’s accounts of suffering for their faith is found in “Foxes Book of Martyrs” and know what they endured, in the way they endured it, was beyond human power and a work of God. It leaves me thinking that it really isn’t about my strength in being able to stand so much as if it is God’s Will that I stand, if it serves His purpose, and gives Him glory. When I look at it that way, I know He will supply me with whatever I need to accomplish His Will for my life.

    Thank you for this post.:0)

    Like

  3. I love that faith filled chapter in Hebrews!

    Like

Thank you for your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.

