I Was There

 

I was there,
Couldn’t you see me…
Pacing in the hallway
As you came into this world.

I was there,
Couldn’t you see me…
As you crossed the street alone
On your way to school.

I was there,
Couldn’t you see me…
As you stepped onto the stage
To get your diploma.

I was there,
Couldn’t you see me…
As you walked down the isle
To your future.

I was there,
Couldn’t you see me…
As your family grew
And you began to age.

I was there,
Couldn’t you see me…
As you stood near the grave
Saying goodbye.

I was there,
Couldn’t you see me…
As your children said goodbye,
And you found yourself alone.

I was there,
Couldn’t you see me…
As you took your last breath
In this life.

I am here,
Now you can see me…
As hand in hand we step
Into Eternity.

Copyright © 2011 All Rights Reserved

Categories: attitude, Bible, Christian, encouragement, faith, family, friends, hometown, hope, inspiration, Life, Love, marriage, memories, Poetry, Reflections, Religion, Spirituality, thoughts | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “I Was There

  1. Pingback: My Article Read (10-21-2015) | My Daily Musing

  2. Touching. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

Thank you for your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.

