I Wish I Had Listened

I wish I had listened to the stories my parents told when I was growing up. The stories of their life, their ancestors and heritage were common conversation, but, unfortunately, boring to most youngsters.

My parents are gone now and their stories are gone with them. In fact, all the ancestors before me are gone. I thought I had all the time in the world, but time ran out. Once, I was a “youth of forever,” now I’m the oldest living member of my family.

There is a saying, “You don’t miss the water until the well runs dry”, a cliché that rings true. I have questions and wonderments that will never be satisfied.

Cherish and learn, while you can, the stories your older generation tells…before it’s too late.

Categories: attitude, Christian, encouragement, faith, family, friends, memories, Reflections | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “I Wish I Had Listened

  1. This is soooooo true.

    Like

  2. I, too, wish I had listened!

    Like

  3. I wish I knew why is so hard for each generation to listen to the stories of their elders.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Bishop Bella Grace

    Amen!

    Like

Thank you for your thoughts.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.