This Side of the Jordan

The words to a  song I wrote when I was composing and performing Gospel music. Wanted to share the message with you. Remember, the Jordan couldn’t be crossed without stepping out by faith. We have a lot of Jordan rivers in our lives. Hopefully, these simple words will help you cross over. Shalom.

~~~

Until today,

I’ve been able to handle;

All of the problems

That have come my way.

 

But as I stand,

On the bank of this river;

My eyes can see

There’s no way to cross;

The river’s too wide.

 

The chilly winds blow,

This side of the Jordan;

And I wish I could

Cross to the other side.

 

I look for a way

Just got to get over;

But can’t seem to find

A way to go.

 

Then, like a dream

The wind seems to tell me;

You’ve got to walk by faith

To get across to the other side.

 

The chilly winds blow

This side of the Jordan;

And I wish I could

Cross to the other side.

 

Going to walk by faith

In God my Maker;

Going to listen each day

To what He has to say.

 

And then some day,

When I stand at that river;

I’ll step by faith and walk

Across to the other side.

 

Copyright ©1977 LeRoy Dean All Rights Reserved

 

Categories: attitude, Bible, Christian, Christianity, encouragement, faith, family, friends, hope, inspiration, Life, Reflections, Religion, Spirituality, thoughts | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “This Side of the Jordan

  1. LOVE IT ~!!

    Like

  2. “You’ve got to walk by faith”…sometimes it’s the hardest thing to do. But it’s the best way to live life.

    Like

  3. very tender song. . . thank you

    Like

  4. I love it! Wish I could hear the music.

    Like

  5. I needed this today too. Thanks, Butch.

    Like

  6. Needed this today, Thanks.

    Like

  7. Going to walk by faith
    In God my Maker

    AMEN

    ps: if you have the song recorded we would love to hear it!

    God Bless
    susie

    Like

  8. Thank you Butch for these helpful words.

    Like

Thank you for your thoughts.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.